Every state differs slightly when it comes to the workers’ compensation laws in place. However, if you are employed in California and you were injured in the workplace, you’ll be glad to know that the workers’ compensation laws are some of the most generous in the country.
That said, there are still strict guidelines and deadlines in place, making it important that you take action quickly to report your injury and file your claim. Understanding the laws that you are subject to from the outset will give you the best possible chance of gaining the full amount of compensation that you deserve. The following is an overview of the steps you should take to gain workers’ compensation in California.
Seek medical attention
You should always prioritize your health above everything. If you are injured at work, make sure that you get the necessary medical attention immediately.
Report the injury to your employer
In California, you have 30 days to give written notice of a work-related injury to your employer. When you have formally reported your injury in this way, your employer must then provide you with a workers’ compensation claim form within 24 hours.
Understand the benefits
It helps to understand the benefits that you should be entitled to. If eligible, you will be entitled to full coverage of all necessary medical care and hospital services, temporary disability payments, permanent disability payments, and retraining if you cannot continue in your previous role.
File a claim
You will have one year to file your claim. When filing your claim, you may need to provide witness statements, doctors’ records, and other forms of evidence and documentation so that you can back up your claim.
If you have recently been injured in the California workplace, make sure that you conduct your own research regarding your rights to workers’ compensation, and do not simply take your employer’s word. Taking action swiftly will give you the best possible chance of success.