No matter how dangerous your occupation is, getting hurt at work is a possibility. Each day, you report to your workstation believing you are going to have a productive day and return home to your loved ones. Unfortunately, workplace injuries happen when they are least expected.
If you are hurt at work, you may be entitled to compensation for your damages. However, there are times when your claim may be denied. If this happens, you may want to understand the reasons for the denial so you can figure out your next course of action. Here are two questions that can help you understand why your workers’ comp may be denied:
Did you miss important deadlines?
The process of pursuing a worker’s compensation claim in California begins by notifying the employer of your injury. In California, you have 30 days from the date of your injury to inform the employer in writing about the incident. Upon receiving your injury notice, the employer will provide you with a claims form. You can also download the form online from the Department of Industrial Relations website.
Besides notifying the employer about your injuries, you will also be required to file your claim within a specified timeframe. This is known as the statute of limitations. In California, you have 1 year from the date of your workplace injury to file your claim.
Did you misrepresent your accident or injuries?
Worker’s comp is designed to provide financial restitution for workers who sustain work-related injuries or illnesses. Thus, if your condition is not related to your work, then it may not qualify for compensation. Misrepresenting the cause of your injuries or the extent of the damage will automatically result in your claims’ dismissal.
A workplace injury can have long-term implications. Knowing your legal options can help you protect your rights while pursuing the financial restitution you deserve after a workplace-related injury or illness.